200th entry – A Look Back

Dear readers,

In the fall of 2007, I embarked on a side project that, to the surprise of everyone (most of all, me) has continued to this day. This blog has endured through two serious relationships and lots of bad health days. I even have survived past Television Without Pity, which I used as my model and internet idol (I used to wile away many an hour reading their recaps of television shows), as they closed up shop in 2014. My readers are mostly silent, but I always get visitors; however, in the end, it’s all about me. The minute this stops being fun, an amusing hobby, I will turn off the lights and go.

It’s still fun, so onward and upward!

For the 200th entry, I thought we’d celebrate by looking back at some of BWP’s “greatest hits,” which would be a good retrospective if you are a regular reader, and a good primer if you’re new here. Something for everyone!

The Books Without Pity origin story is all thanks to a “hygiene” book by one of the first female doctors in the United States, Mary Wood-Allen. A pioneer of the temperance movement, Dr. Wood-Allen also believed that children should be taught about sexuality, but of course, under extremely veiled euphemisms. Enter “What a Young Girl Ought to Know.” This strange artifact is in the form of twelve Twilight Talks, which a fictional young girl has with her mother, about “the birds and the bees,” sometimes quite literally!

Our next selection – Excessive Venery, Masturbation, and Continence – was a tremendous undertaking. Written by one Dr. William Howe and supposed to be used as a medical textbook, I was inundated with lots of unfamiliar terms. I think I did a pretty good job, and the majority of these entries are still popular today, if my search terms are any indication. (I just hope that people are not taking these entries seriously)!

Sorely needing a break after all the reading about Faradic currents, strychnine, and lots of cases of priapism, I decided to shift my focus a bit. I set my sights on something quite popular which I was finagled into reading and absolutely despised. My target? Twilight. I did New Moon next. Eclipse was a snore-fest and bored me to tears, so much so that I couldn’t even muster up the energy to skewer it. I did finally do Breaking Dawn, this year, in fact, and I think the break of several years honed my game a little better.

One of my absolute favorites is up next. Phil Phillips is probably not a name you’ve heard, unless you grew up in a certain type of religious household in the 1980s. I had never heard of him, until the Southern Fried Ex told me about this book that his mother read when he was a child, basically ruining any and all popular culture motifs that were de rigueur for any one growing up in the “Me Decade.” And he was not alone. Turmoil in the Toybox was apparently responsible for ruining many a childhood, for all of the cartoons the rest of us loved and cherished are actually Satanic and evil, and no good Christian parents should let their children watch He-Man. Or Care Bears. Or Rainbow Brite. I ended up losing my notes after writing up half of the book; I would later check the book out and finish the rest. Phil Phillips would make a separate appearance in a different book, entitled Halloween and Satanism.

My second favorite set of posts is from the Life Cycle Library, a set of family life type books from the 1960s. A set of four books, the one I snark here is for teenagers going through puberty, and dating and relationships. It’s like a Prelinger Archive film, but in text form!

The rest of this crazy ride includes the horrible trilogy that should not exist: Fifty Shades of Grey, Fifty Shades Darker, and Fifty Shades Freed. Apparently, I am a masochist. There are also some Golden Age comics, Life magazine articles and adverts, and even some V.C. Andrews up in here!

I hope that this has been a worthwhile look into the last eight years of snarkdom. See you really soon!

Love,

N

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “200th entry – A Look Back

  1. David

    Congratulations on the milestone!

Leave a Reply

